I’m Back

WOW! What a week that was. I know I said I would try and post some things about the Tour Down Under, but it was pretty crazy the whole week and didn’t really get a chance to.

I am pretty happy that I finally got to meet the voice of cycling Phil LIggett (it only took me 6 years)! Here is a picture with him

 

20140128-121901.jpg
I was quite excited and didn’t stop smiling most of the day.

Anyway, I am back to normal (as normal as things can be anyway) and while I had a good start to the month, things fell away a bit towards the end. After a little lapse, I am hungry to get things back on track and hopefully drop below the 109kg mark.

While I have been away from full training, I have been watching a few episodes of the Australian Biggest Loser season. I was sitting there the other night (thankfully by myself as I got quite emotional) listening to mature woman (I don’t want to say old) and the horrible place she was in, really affected me.

This caused me to post to facebook saying I know it is meant to tug at the heart string, but her (Mary I am pretty sure her name is) story really hurt me as she was in so much pain both emotionally and physically. This post got a mixed reaction and it really got me thinking about what it takes for some people to realise they need to make a change, and if they have even tried before. The main thing that stuck with me from this was the whole “Why do they need the show to lose weight”, “Why don’t they just do it” and “They’re only after their 15 minutes of fame”.

At the end of the day I think it all comes back to accountability and they reason why you do it. If it takes being on a television show with someone being in your face, do it…if it takes being open about where your head is at, do it…..But most of all you can only do it if your heart is in it. This last is one of my biggest growth areas of all.

As I have mentioned previously, I tried many of times to lose weight and create a better/ healthier future for myself and family, but really didn’t want people to know because of the fear of failure. Once my son was born and I realised what it takes to provide the best possible life for the kids (which was me being there for them) it was a no brainer.

The problem for me was that I liked the idea of trying to lose weight but didn’t embrace it. Once I surrounded myself with the right people (who were there all along) the rest just come naturaly and I have and won’t look back. Unless it it to remind myself how far I have come so I won’t go back.

Apologies for the long post, but I have had a fair bit rattling around in my head this past week. Feel free to to add what motivates you and your reasons for beginning, as I would love to hear them.

Leave a comment